Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.

Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum


The Foundation Stage covers the curriculum for ages 3 – 5 years (Nursery and Reception aged children) and follows guidance from the Early Years Foundation Stage known as EYFS. The long term plans can be seen below. We have e two year rolling programme and the plans below show progression from Nursery to Reception.

Year A

Year B

There are seven areas of learning and development:

3 Prime areas:

Personal, social and emotional

Communication and language

Physical development

4 Specific areas:

Literacy (which incorporates reading and writing)


Understanding the world

Expressive arts and design


Staff plan a range of purposeful, play-based and adult led activities, which incorporate child-initiated ideas to help children meet developmental targets and which help to engage their learning styles.


In the Foundation Stage we follow the ‘Letters & Sounds’ document to teach phonics.

Children in Nursery focus primarily on Phase 1, which involves listening to, distinguishing between and talking about sounds.

In Reception, children move onto Phase 2 and 3 which involves learning specific letter based sounds and how to use their developed listening skills to blend and segment sounds to help them read and spell first simple 3 letter words and then moving on to longer words in Phase 4

Children in Foundation are taught their reading skills through a range of activities with their teacher, this can include; shared stories, time in the reading corner, looking at print around the classroom and guided reading sessions where explicit reading skills are taught.

These skills are then practised through the use of ‘Home Reading’ books.

Children in Reception are benchmarked on their reading skills to ensure they are reading at the correct level.


For further information on the EYFS curriculum, please click here.